Awards 2016/2017


Each year students participating in AS are recognized for their commitment to our campus community both campus-wide and at the annual AS Awards Banquet. Thank you to all the recipients for your service above and beyond to students and our local community.


Thomas More Storke Award

Paola Dela Cruz-Perez


Vice Chancellor’s Award for Scholarship, Leadership, and Citizenship

Luis Becerril

University Award of Distinction

Sophia Barkhudarova
Allyson Gonzalez
Steven Kwok
Kendra Lee
Ashcon Minoiefar

University Service Award

Jenna AndersoN
Austin Hechler
Tiffany Yeh

Michael D. Young Engaged Scholar Award

Saxon Cropper-Sykes


Jeremy Johansen Award

The Jeremy Johansen award is given to an individual who has demonstrated endurance, persistence and courage in the face of extraordinary challenges while in service to Associated Students.

Kendra Nicole Lee

Board/Committee/Commission of the Year

This award is given to the A.S. organization that has consistently made outstanding contributions to student life throughout the year.

Community Affairs Board

Executive Director Award

Conferred upon the Associated Students entity which has displayed the most responsiveness to the Vision 2020 Student Strategic Plan.

Creative Media Unit

Project of the Year

For an outstanding project that made a contribution to the student body.

CFF Special Topics Course

Staff Member of the Year

This award is given to a staff member who has provided outstanding service to the students involved in Associated Students

LaDonte King

Student Staff Member of the Year

This award is given to a student-staff member who has done an outstanding job throughout the year.

Kathy Lopez

Karen Kurpershoek


Senate Member of the Year

This award is given to a Senate member that has consistently performed outstanding work on behalf of the Senate throughout the year.

Ashley Selki

Individual Board Member Awards

Each Board, Committee, or Commission is invited to select their member of the year.  Please forward the Organization name, Chair name, and the name of the member of the year.  These individuals will be recognized at the banquet.  The Chair (or their delegate) of each committee will present the award.

Isla Vista Tenants Union (IVTU)

Audrey Tamayo

Student Initiated Recruitment and Retention Committee (SIRRC)

Julia Hsueh

Office of the Controller

Anna Lee and Teni Adedeji

Investment Advisory Committee

Mustafa Masud

Finance & Business Committee

Navpreet Khabra

Creative Media Unit

Emani Oakley

Coastal Fund

Stephen Fetterly

Community Affairs Board (CAB)

Tanios Boudames III

Community Financial Fund (CFF)

Rebecca Quan

Commission on Student Well Being (COSWB)

Gloria Chan

Lobby Corp

Jessica Black

Bike Committee

Tiffany Yeh


Jessica Stein

Zero Waste Committee

Sam Colette

Program Board

Taylor Glatt

Kailah Korsch

Shahar Roda

More Photos

Skip to content